Creative Writing Contests & Awards‎ For Authors

Here’s a list of writing contests and competitions for authors:

The Independent Book Publisher Awards: Who May Enter: Independent, university, small press, self-publishers and independent authors throughout North America and overseas publishers who publish books intended for the American market..Read More.

The National Book Critics Circle Awards: Each year the National Book Critics Circle selects awards in six categories: Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. The board divides itself into committees for each category, which are responsible for nominating books to be considered in each category. Any title that is championed by a particular board member is placed on a master list for consideration by other board members…Read More

The Newbery Medal: The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children…Read More

The Caldecott Medal: The Medal shall be awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published by an American publisher in the United States…Read More

Hugo Award: The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them…Read More

Nobel Prize in literature: Nominations to the Nobel Prize in Literature can be made by qualified persons only…Read More

The Edgar Allan Poe Award: Honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction..Read More

FT/Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award: The winner of the £30,000 prize for the FT and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award will go to the book that is judged to have provided the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, with £10,000 awarded to each runner-up. Queries on procedure can be directed to [email protected]

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction: The site will open for new entries in…Read More

The National Book Award: There are four panels of five Judges each in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature, each including a Chairperson, chosen by the National Book Foundation.Winners will each receive a prize of $10,000. Finalists will each receive a prize of $1,000…Read More

The 2013 Independent Publisher Book Awards: Conducted annually, the Independent Publisher Book Awards honor the year’s best independently published titles from around the world…Read More 

Dan Poynter’s Global eBook Awards: Judges for the Global Ebook Awards select the categories of ebooks in which they have an expertise and want to read. They are avid readers who voluntarily come to your ebook…Read More

The Autumn House Press Award: Since 2003, the annual Autumn House Poetry Contest has awarded publication of a full-length manuscript and $2,500 to the winner…Read More

The Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award: The late Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction. The award is funded by the Hemingway Foundation and PEN New England. In addition to $10,000, the winner also receives a one-week residency in The Distinguished Visiting Writers Series at the University of Idaho’s MFA Program in Creative Writing..Read More

Indies Choice Book Award: The Indies Choice Book Awards reflect the spirit of independent bookstores nationwide and the IndieBound movement. Book of the Year winners and Honor Award recipients are all titles nominated by ABA member booksellers…Read More

The Discover Great New Writers Award: Barnes & Noble established the Discover Great New Writers™ program in 1990 to recognize great fiction and nonfiction debuts from authors at the start of their careers. Prize: $10,000..Read More 

The Nautilus Book Award: The Nautilus Awards represents “Better Books for a Better World.” Now in its 15th year, this unique book award program continues to gain prestige with authors and publishers around the world as it seeks, honors, awards and promotes print books that inspire and connect our lives as individuals, communities and global citizens…Read More Awards: The Beach Book Festival has issued a call for entries to its annual program spotlighting the hottest reads of the upcoming summer season…Read More 

The Axiom Business Book Awards: The Axiom Business Book Awards are the largest and most respected critical guidepost for business books in today’s new world of publishing. These prestigious and competitive awards are presented in 21 business categories and serve as the premier list to help readers discover new and innovative works…Read More

The National Indie Excellence Book Awards: The National Indie Excellence® Awards (NIEA) was created to help establish self-publishing as a proud, legitimate, and strong facet of the publishing industry. As a winner or finalist you can highlight your award on your marketing materials. You can also both download the seal to print on your book and order stickers to put on each book you have already printed. Award stickers will be available for purchase as well as Certificates…Read More

The Independent Book Publishers Association’s Benjamin Franklin Awards: The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, which include fifty-five categories recognizing excellence in book editorial and design, are regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers. The Awards are administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA), with help from over 160 book publishing professionals including librarians, bookstore owners, reviewers, designers, publicity managers, and editors…Read More

USA Best Book Awards: The USA Best Book Awards are specifically designed to not only garner media coverage and book sales for the winners & finalists but to promote awarded books…Read More

Reader Views Annual Literary Awards: The annual literary awards were established to honor writers who self-published or had their books published by a subsidy publisher, small press, university press, or independent book publisher geared for the North American reading audience. POD books are accepted…Read More

Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award: The ABNA contest provides authors with an incredible opportunity to win a publishing contract with Amazon Publishing. One Grand Prize winner will receive a publishing contract with an advance of $50,000, and four First Prize winners will each receive a publishing contract with an advance of $15,000…Read More

Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards: Whether you’re a professional writer, a part-time freelancer or a self-starting student, here’s your chance to enter the premier self-published competition exclusively for self-published books. Writer’s Digest hosts the 22nd annual self-published competition–the Annual Self-Published Book Awards…Read More

Readers’ Favorite Awards: As an award winner, you will be able to add your  Readers’ Favorite award seal to your book and all other marketing materials, as well as identify your book as an “award-winning book” and you as an “award-winning author…Read More

Leave a Reply